Return to Headlines

District announces overall Circle of Greatness winners for 2020-2021

Circle of Greatness overall winnersAugust 25, 2021


The Aledo ISD announced recently the overall winners for the district's employee recognition Circle of Greatness program for the 2020-2021 school year, suprising four employees at the district's annual convocation event.


The four overall Circle of Greatness winners were chosen from among 12 employees who were Circle of Greatness Special Honorees throughout the school year. Those 12 were chosen from among more than 350 nominees during the 2020-2021 school year. Nominations are submitted by parents, students and fellow Aledo ISD employees.


Please help us congratulate the following Circle of Greatness overall winners:


Guest Teacher winner Adeana Chasteen
What one of her nominees said: "She is always so willing to help at the drop of a hat. Adeana is incredibly flexible and so great with the students. I have enjoyed watching her establish relationships with my students she works with."


Auxiliary winner Charles Zuber, maintenance
What one of his nominees said: "Charles personifies professionalism and hard work. He is always pleasant and has been a tremendous asset to the district."


Paraprofessional winner Tawanda Garner, Daniel Ninth Grade Campus 18-PLUS/transition aide
What one of her nominees said: "Tawanda goes above and beyond the call of duty to serve the students in the 18 Plus Program. She is committed to helping our students excel to their highest potential! She creates as many beneficial opportunities for her students as she can."


Professional winner Katie Nicely, Stuard Elementary teacher
What one of her nominees said: "She has made a huge positive impact with our special education students and parents already! She does all of this with a positive outlook and a warm smile to everyone. She is amazing!"


Also congratulations to the 2020-2021 special honorees:

  • Guest teacher: Dawn Axness, Adeana Chasteen and Casey Hatcher
  • Auxiliary: Officer Carlos Lopez, Charles Zuber from maintenance and Toshlyn Johnson from transportation.
  • Paraprofessional: Renee Goodenough from Child Nutrition, Tawanda Garner from 18-Plus, and Tonya Thurman from Aledo High School
  • Professional: Katie Nicely, functional academics teacher at Stuard, AHS math teacher Dan Shedd and AMS special education teacher Lindsey Elcock